Already registered? Login in the bottom right corner below


5 May 2018

This week saw the final A and B league matches for the season. In the A league International Divers gained a 4-1 win over easyGym. Both sides had reserves playing due to injuries and players being away in Latvia representing the IOM in the European Nations Team Championships. Andrew Brown played at five for the Divers making his A league debut and secured a good 3-1 win over Phil Shaw. The other notable match was at number three where Mark Grace of easyGym won a five game battle against the higher ranked Lyndon Cheetham taking the final game 15-11. Divers only lost four points in the match and moved up to third place in the final league placings.

X Stoneart lost their match against E-Cerebro but gained enough points to maintain their second position in the league. Stoneart's Calum Baker and Allistair Crossley both secured 3-0 wins at three and five respectively. E-Cerebro number one Ashley Sandyford-Sykes warmed up for his trip to Riga with the IOM Squad with a convincing 3-0 win over Hamish Thornton. Mike Hayler made the match score 2-2 with a very close 3-2 win over Steve Baker. The pivotal match to decide the victors was between Stoneart's Steve Gaylor and Dave Freer. This was a real see-saw match with players taking it in turns to have the ascendency, but Dave Freer won the final game 15-14 to win the match for E-Cerebro.

Despite losing their match this week Island Exhausts did enough to retain their B league title for another year. Outcasts beat Exhausts 3-2 in a close match with only 12 points between the teams. At five Les Callow narrowly lost to Outcast Phil Whittam in a very competitive five games. Exhausts other veteran Ian Sheard won 3-0 at four. The other three matches all went to four games. Pat Russell played some of his best squash of the season to beat Stuart Highy, taking the only other win for Exhausts. At the top of the order Outcasts Liam Davies and Peter Ginty overcame their opponents 3-1 to secure the win 219-207 in points.

The Conister Pioneers finished their B League campaign with a fine 5-0 win over Sharks on Thursday to confirm the league's runners-up spot. There were some tight games across the board, but wins for Rob Boyles, Calum Baker, Marc Taggart, Barry Irvine and Andy Brown secured the Racketeers the win.

It is still everything to play for in the C League with only two matches to play next week to decide the title. This week Dandara Falcons beat Racketeers Academy 4-1, in what was an enjoyable and friendly night at the NSC squash courts. Wins for Falcons came from Ian Barnes, Jon Cox, Lewi Long and Aidan McCusker, with Nic Kieswetter gaining the only win for Racketeers at two.

Misfits against Jewel Tech was also a 4-1 win. The surprise match of the night was at number one where Beth Jones played consistently well to beat Terry Holt 3-0. There were other close matches at two and four, each going to four games and finishing on high scores, with the wins going to Misfits Andy Dixon and Stephen Pitts.

Jewel Tech were in action again on Friday, this time against Junior Academy who called on the not-so-junior Pat Russell to bolster their already strong team. Academy won 4-1 with Emma Leith taking the only win for Jewel Tech in four close games against Leighton Ginty. The match of the night was between Christian Webster of Jewel Tech and Academy’s Max Birchall. This was the only five game match which Max took 15-12 in the fifth.

The final Racketeers derby of the C League season coughed up a win for the Academy side, 235-197. As always, all five ends were hard-fought, the Academy quartet of Andy Brown, Allan Bashforth, Ste Wright and youngster Charlie Beard claiming wins. The latter's victory over Racketeers' stalwart Graeme 'Geece' Cole marking his first in senior squash. Matt Corlett prevented the whitewash for the Hansard Racketeers with a good 3-0 success over the in-form Nic Kieswetter at number one.

The picture shows 5 of this years Island Exhausts Squash team, from left to right - Mark Grace, Les callow, Dave O'Neill, Pat Russell and Ian Sheard (Captain). Squad players not pictured are - Douglas Jacobsson, James Martin, Peter Sharples and Ian Shirley.